A 52-Week Photo Journey

… Mary Nell Moore's Photography

9. Highways and Byways

11 Comments

When thinking about highways and byways, my thoughts immediately went to the Sunshine Skyway Bridge, which is part of I-275 (US 93) and US 19 (SR 55).  It is one of the most beautiful bridges I have ever seen; however, for some strange reason I do not enjoy driving across it.  On this day, I did something I have wanted to do for years, i.e. stop and photograph it.  If you’re interested in its history, you may click here.

Author: tnwaltz

A true Southerner, I was born in Georgia but lived most of my adult life in Chattanooga, Tennessee. In 2001, my husband and I retired and moved to beautiful Sarasota, FL. We quickly realized that we were not retirement material and could not play golf two or three times a week so we got our real estate licenses and affiliated with Coldwell Banker on Longboat Key. My love for photography is very beneficial to me when photographing interiors and exteriors of the homes we list. Other than photography, I have a keen interest in genealogy and golf (whenever I can find the spare time from our real estate practice).

11 thoughts on “9. Highways and Byways

  1. Great shot. You had to go out of your way to get that shot. Love the framing with the rocks.

    Like

  2. Nice Job. As I drove home, I also thought about it stopping but did not. I always have wanted to photograph it. I liked the glow on the supports and you captured that. Using the old pier to frame it was a great idea.

    Like

  3. I too enjoy the Skyway bridge & have photographed it several times. It is pretty spectacular. Very nice shot MN.

    Like

  4. beautiful photo…I love it from this prespective

    Like

  5. love the shape that is made with the rocks in the foreground. It is a beautiful bridge.

    Like

  6. Hadn’t seen it from that perspective before. The rocks made a superb foreground for our favorite drive–one of the 10 top bridges in the world!

    Like

  7. Very nice perspective and light! I like that you gave us a link with more info, too.

    Like

  8. I love your photo! I, too, am not a fan of driving across this bridge.

    Like

  9. MN: That is just a great photo. I have tried to photograph the Skyway Bridge on 2 occassions from the old bridge and have not gotten one good shot. The location and matching colors of the bridge and rocks is fantastic. This is a competition photo.

    Like

  10. Great photo! The Skyway is one of the things on my photo bucket list to photograph one day!

    Like

Leave a Reply

