A 52-Week Photo Journey

… Mary Nell Moore's Photography

1. Multiple Layers

12 Comments

Have you ever just wanted to photograph a rock? For a long time, I have had a particular rock in mind to photograph so during our last visit to Chattanooga, I made a trip up Lookout Mountain in search of the Umbrella Rock. You might ask why would I want to photograph this particular rock and the answer is because about 1890 my Grandfather, George David McCallie, was photographed sitting on the rock when he was 18 years old. It was a famous rock and many people loved sitting on top of it to have their pictures made. The rock is still in place but has a fence around it now and access to it is not allowed. Below you will see the rock as it is today (I put my lens through the chainlink fence) and underneath is a copy of my Grandfather sitting at the base of the rock. In the late 1800’s and early 1900’s a popular thing was for entire families to climb on top via a ladder and have their pictures taken with their feet dangling off the sides.
1.  Multiple Layers
Grandpa

Author: tnwaltz

A true Southerner, I was born in Georgia but lived most of my adult life in Chattanooga, Tennessee. In 2001, my husband and I retired and moved to beautiful Sarasota, FL. We quickly realized that we were not retirement material and could not play golf two or three times a week so we got our real estate licenses and affiliated with Coldwell Banker on Longboat Key. My love for photography is very beneficial to me when photographing interiors and exteriors of the homes we list. Other than photography, I have a keen interest in genealogy and golf (whenever I can find the spare time from our real estate practice).

12 thoughts on “1. Multiple Layers

  1. Very cool, MN. Nice to be able to touch and see a bit of family history.

    Like

  2. Great story & two terrific photos. A great idea for layers.

    Like

  3. Chain link fence has never stopped me before! I am picturing a photo of YOU sitting on that rock and I will be taking the photo… just saying. We can make that happen! 😉

    Like

  4. Great story. Your new photo is really nice & colorful

    Like

  5. WOW is the appropriate word. Great history and family connection.

    Like

  6. what a wonderful story!

    Like

  7. Sure does bring back thoughts.
    Love you.

    Like

  8. Very cool, Mary Nell, story and all!

    Like

  9. Poignant and beautifully executed

    Like

  10. Great shot as usual and love the story of the family connection.

    Like

  11. Nice story of your family. And great photograph. I like that you included the one taken earlier!

    Like

  12. really love the story and the memories it brings to you is obvious. Thank you for sharing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

