A 52-Week Photo Journey

… Mary Nell Moore's Photography

26. Fear

4 Comments

On a beautiful day last Fall, Mike and I were in Chattanooga and decided to drive to an area known as Fall Creek Falls. With tripod and camera gear in hand, we set out hiking up the side of the mountain. What a steep climb it was! Along the way, we passed several small waterfalls and being the tomboy I am, I elected to scoot down to the bottom of one of those smaller falls and photograph people as they were walking across a swinging bridge. Crossing that bridge seems pretty simple looking at it from the bottom up; however, when I began crossing it, I was in mortal fear. With each step I took, it would sway and bounce and with each step others took, it swayed and bounced even more. Once I reached the other side, the only thing I could think of was I had to cross it again coming back down. The hike up the mountain was brutal for both of us and we quickly realized how out of shape we were. When we actually arrived at the big Fall on top, we looked to our left only to see a large parking lot! Can you believe we hiked all the way up that mountain only to discover that we could have driven?
FearDSC_5872.2

Author: tnwaltz

A true Southerner, I was born in Georgia but lived most of my adult life in Chattanooga, Tennessee. In 2001, my husband and I retired and moved to beautiful Sarasota, FL. We quickly realized that we were not retirement material and could not play golf two or three times a week so we got our real estate licenses and affiliated with Coldwell Banker on Longboat Key. My love for photography is very beneficial to me when photographing interiors and exteriors of the homes we list. Other than photography, I have a keen interest in genealogy and golf (whenever I can find the spare time from our real estate practice).

4 thoughts on “26. Fear

  1. LOL! … too funny! – anyway it was all worthwhile – that’s the pay back. Love the milky water and the people silhouetted on the bridge.

    Like

  2. Great shot & really good story. But I know you work out, so that story has a little “I doubt it” attached to it. Fun stuff.

    Like

  3. Mary Nell, now that sounds like something I would do – hike it and find a parking lot at the top. And I am out of shape so I know what you mean. As for the bridge, I can imagine the bouncing and swaying. I would be in fear of my camera gear.

    Like

  4. How many of us have taken a beautiful waterfall scene, but without the perspective of humans. The people walking above the falls truly puts it all in perspective. Your usual great job!

    Like

Leave a Reply

