A 52-Week Photo Journey

… Mary Nell Moore's Photography

35. Not My Mother Tongue

4 Comments

This photograph is part of the Chattanooga Art Project at the Tennessee Aquarium in celebration of the Cherokee Culture. Although the Cherokee language is not my mother tongue, my ancestry on my father’s side dates back to the Cherokees as my great, great grandmother was Cherokee and was a part of the forced removal of the Cherokees from Chattanooga. The removal of the Cherokees is known as the Trail of Tears and is said to be the greatest tragedy of the Cherokee Indians and a disgraceful act by our government at the time. Her son-in-law (my great grandfather) was successful in returning her to Chattanooga and thus saving her from the perils some of the other Cherokee Indians suffered. Once the forced evacuation was launched in 1838, some 4,000 Cherokees died in stockades or on the trail.

The scene in this photograph depicts a portion of the 14-foot tall stainless steel sculptures of stickball players which grace a wall alongside the Tennessee River near the Aquarium. The game was an important part of the Cherokee culture.
DSC_4901_2_3_4_5_tonemapped

Author: tnwaltz

A true Southerner, I was born in Georgia but lived most of my adult life in Chattanooga, Tennessee. In 2001, my husband and I retired and moved to beautiful Sarasota, FL. We quickly realized that we were not retirement material and could not play golf two or three times a week so we got our real estate licenses and affiliated with Coldwell Banker on Longboat Key. My love for photography is very beneficial to me when photographing interiors and exteriors of the homes we list. Other than photography, I have a keen interest in genealogy and golf (whenever I can find the spare time from our real estate practice).

4 thoughts on “35. Not My Mother Tongue

  1. Very interesting. Good story.

    Like

  2. MN: Very nice picture and love the history/story behind it.

    Like

  3. You are probably among the very few people, in this national immigration discussion, who can tell the rest of us to go back where we came from! Awesome history.

    Like

  4. interesting and emotional story … love the ominous sky.

    Like

Leave a Reply

