A 52-Week Photo Journey

… Mary Nell Moore's Photography

32. Glitter (Week 49)

6 Comments

As a child, one of my favorite things to do was to go to my Grandma Sparks’ house. In her bedroom was an armoire in which she kept her Sunday hats and jewelry. As most Grandma’s would do, she would let me wear her hats and jewelry around the house “if I would be careful not to damage them.” I can still hear her saying those words. Those memories of Grandma Sparks came rushing back to me late one evening as Mindy and I were strolling downtown Sarasota and I spotted this jewelry and hat in a storefront window. The glitter of the rhinestones, the color of the pearls and the hat caught my eye and for a fleeting moment I was once again that little girl at Grandma Sparks’ house.
DSC_1376 Glitter
DSC_1380

Author: tnwaltz

A true Southerner, I was born in Georgia but lived most of my adult life in Chattanooga, Tennessee. In 2001, my husband and I retired and moved to beautiful Sarasota, FL. We quickly realized that we were not retirement material and could not play golf two or three times a week so we got our real estate licenses and affiliated with Coldwell Banker on Longboat Key. My love for photography is very beneficial to me when photographing interiors and exteriors of the homes we list. Other than photography, I have a keen interest in genealogy and golf (whenever I can find the spare time from our real estate practice).

6 thoughts on “32. Glitter (Week 49)

  1. You are remembering your Grandma and I am remembering the nice walk up Main Street with you! šŸ™‚ So many things to photograph in Downtown Sarasota.

    Like

  2. what lovely memories of the Grandmother.

    Like

  3. Great story, great photo MN.

    Like

  4. Sounds like your Grandma Sparks sparkled in her Sunday best!

    Like

  5. love those kind of memories.

    Like

Leave a Reply

