A 52-Week Photo Journey

… Mary Nell Moore's Photography

3. Change of Time (Week 50)

10 Comments

Although it has been a while since I was single and dating, I remember vividly how nice it was to go out to dinner and have a conversation with my date. As my husband (my date) and I were enjoying a wonderful evening at one of our favorite restaurants in Chattanooga along the Tennessee River, I noticed a young couple sitting across from us. They sat down, ordered beers and then his cell phone became more important to him than a nice dinner and conversation with his date. The entire time we sat there, he was on his cell phone. I mentioned to my husband that it was sad that times had changed so drastically. The second photo appears to be a father having breakfast with his daughter as he played with his cell phone and his daughter read a book. Conversation? Not while we were there. I guess I could also be accused of being guilty of the same, as I took both of these photos with my iPhone!
1
Change of Time

Author: tnwaltz

A true Southerner, I was born in Georgia but lived most of my adult life in Chattanooga, Tennessee. In 2001, my husband and I retired and moved to beautiful Sarasota, FL. We quickly realized that we were not retirement material and could not play golf two or three times a week so we got our real estate licenses and affiliated with Coldwell Banker on Longboat Key. My love for photography is very beneficial to me when photographing interiors and exteriors of the homes we list. Other than photography, I have a keen interest in genealogy and golf (whenever I can find the spare time from our real estate practice).

10 thoughts on “3. Change of Time (Week 50)

  1. oh, how times have changed. I have also witnessed a group of young people at a restaurant and not one of them talked. They were all on their phones – texting – probably each other. Such a shame, conversation is lost, as well as manners. And to hear “I do not read cursive” during the hot trial. What are we doing to society?
    I would say you have captured this, all too well.

    Like

  2. So true. It seems like these gadgets have changed us as a society. I resisted for the longest time, but caved. Cell phones should only be used for emergencies. But they are good for Google maps. 🙂

    Like

  3. Great interpretation of the theme! I notice the same thing out many times… it is sad to see but unfortunately is one of many things that have changed – and not for the good.

    Like

  4. Yes, cell phones have completely taken over most people’s lives.
    Bro

    Like

  5. Throw them all in the Tennessee River!

    Like

  6. Today our nan driver in Brussels kept answering his phone on the first ring. Rush-hour traffuc seemed secondary.

    Like

  7. Make that van driver.

    Like

  8. So sad Dad and daughter (I assume she is not the wife) are not connecting.

    Like

  9. A great “read” on both couples. Yes, photos do tell a story.

    Like

  10. Very sad commentary. Great shots.

    Like

Leave a Reply

