A 52-Week Photo Journey

… Mary Nell Moore's Photography

Week 2 – #2 A Song Title

12 Comments

In the 1970’s, I lived in Macon, Georgia and had the pleasure of knowing Phil Walden, owner of Capricorn Records. Capricorn was the recording label for many Southern rock and soul bands in the 1970’s including Otis Redding, The Allman Brothers Band, Al Green, The Marshall Tucker Band, Wet Willie, Kitty Wells and many others. In essence, Phil’s Capricorn Records put Macon, Georgia on the map. Those were happy days, my memories run deep, and still today when I hear “Sittin’ On The Dock Of The Bay,” by Otis Redding, a huge smile crosses my face and I think about good times. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rd3rA89VhtA
Sittin On Bay

Author: tnwaltz

A true Southerner, I was born in Georgia but lived most of my adult life in Chattanooga, Tennessee. In 2001, my husband and I retired and moved to beautiful Sarasota, FL. We quickly realized that we were not retirement material and could not play golf two or three times a week so we got our real estate licenses and affiliated with Coldwell Banker on Longboat Key. My love for photography is very beneficial to me when photographing interiors and exteriors of the homes we list. Other than photography, I have a keen interest in genealogy and golf (whenever I can find the spare time from our real estate practice).

12 thoughts on “Week 2 – #2 A Song Title

  1. A really great song indeed! I really like your version of this story & photo MN.

    Like

  2. Aah…I read that and shared those memories with you – you would fill me in every Monday morning!! Can you believe I still have my Gregg Allman autograph you got for me!!!!

    It has always been one of life’s big mysteries to me how music has the ability to immediately transport one back to a time and place!

    Like

  3. Jeannie, Mike has heard my stories many times and one day he came home with Gregg’s autobiography, “My Cross To Bear.” Have you read it? I am sure Cher was not pleased with the chapter about her but nevertheless it was interesting reading. Yes, music is magical.

    Like

  4. Great picture and the framing is unique — good job.

    Like

  5. One of my favorite songs!

    Like

  6. Perfectly depicted “song title” and like the others, one of my favorite songs.

    Like

  7. Captures the song title perfectly. Seeing other posts makes me feel feeble re my lack of photographic skills but then does make me want to try and up my game. Your posts so far have really made me think about the photographs and I find I’ve gone back to look at them a couple of times. AND you were a rock chick to boot!

    Like

  8. So loved that song – who’s the hunky model? seriously though love the
    framing of the whole photo and all the “blues”.

    Like

  9. Great composition and choice of song

    Like

Leave a Reply

