A 52-Week Photo Journey

… Mary Nell Moore's Photography

Week 7 – #21 In The Clouds

10 Comments

November 22, 2010 was a day I shall never forget as that is the day our precious little Genie, a Bischon Frise, left us. If you have ever lost a pet, then you know the sadness we felt. She was a loving, gentle little puppy who gave us all the love she had to give, all the time. A friend sent the below to me and I have had it taped to my bathroom mirror since that dreadful day when she was attacked and murdered by one of my neighbor’s dogs in Tennessee:

“God turns clouds inside out to make fluffy beds for the dogs in Dog Heaven, and when they are tired from running and barking and eating ham sandwich biscuits, the dogs find a cloud bed for sleeping. God watches over each one of them. And there are no bad dreams.

Cynthia Rylant”

Over the past three years I have been comforted by looking up at the clouds on beautiful days and imagining Genie jumping and playing on the fluffy clouds. Imagine my surprise last week when I looked up and saw an almost perfect outline of her in the clouds. In loving memory, I am including a photo of her taken not long before she died. Precious little Genie will always live in our hearts.
Genie in the Clouds
DSC_0066 Genie

Author: tnwaltz

A true Southerner, I was born in Georgia but lived most of my adult life in Chattanooga, Tennessee. In 2001, my husband and I retired and moved to beautiful Sarasota, FL. We quickly realized that we were not retirement material and could not play golf two or three times a week so we got our real estate licenses and affiliated with Coldwell Banker on Longboat Key. My love for photography is very beneficial to me when photographing interiors and exteriors of the homes we list. Other than photography, I have a keen interest in genealogy and golf (whenever I can find the spare time from our real estate practice).

10 thoughts on “Week 7 – #21 In The Clouds

  1. Eyes filling up – nearly all of us know how you still feel having lost a pet. What a lovely story to give us all comfort – I’ll be looking at the clouds a little differently now 🙂

    Like

  2. What a nice story MN. Our pets are like our children.

    Like

  3. What a sweet, sad story. She was a beautiful puppy.

    Like

  4. Love the shape of the cloud 🙂

    Like

  5. How sweet! I know just how you feel! Still grieve for my Roxy.

    Like

  6. You’re right – you can’t fully know the loss unless you experience it. I see dogs prancing in the clouds all the time and perhaps we now know why! Thank you for sharing your cloud!

    Like

  7. I will never look at fluffy clouds again without thinking of Genie – great story

    Like

  8. I know you still miss her…she was an awesome dog!

    Like

  9. And there she is…in the clouds! Great that you not only saw the cloud formation, but that you captured it, too.

    Like

  10. That is a comfort – as Patricia says – I shall look at clouds in a different way from now on. Two lovely pictures.

    Like

Leave a Reply

