A 52-Week Photo Journey

… Mary Nell Moore's Photography

Week 9 – #28 Love is . . .

9 Comments

tossing away the key to your heart.

This week as my husband and I were walking across the Brooklyn Bridge over the East River in New York, we noticed hundreds of gym locker-sized locks hanging from the railings and lamp posts off the pedestrian path. Curiosity got the best of us so upon inquiring, we learned that the idea behind the locks is couples lock their hearts away and pledge everlasting love by placing their locks there and tossing the keys into the river below. The symbolic gesture started in Rome about five years ago as locals started copying the lustful characters in Italian author Federico Moccia’s popular novel “Ho Voglia di Te”, or “I Want You” in Italian.
Love Is DSC_3820

Love Is DSC_3815

Author: tnwaltz

A true Southerner, I was born in Georgia but lived most of my adult life in Chattanooga, Tennessee. In 2001, my husband and I retired and moved to beautiful Sarasota, FL. We quickly realized that we were not retirement material and could not play golf two or three times a week so we got our real estate licenses and affiliated with Coldwell Banker on Longboat Key. My love for photography is very beneficial to me when photographing interiors and exteriors of the homes we list. Other than photography, I have a keen interest in genealogy and golf (whenever I can find the spare time from our real estate practice).

9 thoughts on “Week 9 – #28 Love is . . .

  1. how sweet – hope she said yes! – did you see Debbie Aitkens entry – she too took a photo of padlocks – hers was in France – its catching on everywhere.

    Like

    • No, I didn’t see Debbie’s post but will go back and look. I understand from talking with some NYC workers that they cut the locks and dispose of them about every 30 days or so.

      Like

  2. Thanks for that…awesome. Love locked in!

    Like

  3. Very cool idea!

    Like

  4. Mary Nell,

    I was never able to figure out how to join in the photography cycle you sponsor, but I have loved following your posts. You provide a lovely and poetic eye on many aspects of our world I would never have experienced otherwise. Thank you so much! Mary McGrath

    also, please change my email address so I can continue to follow along!

    Mary McGrath

    Like

  5. Really nice work. What a great capture of the love theme.

    Like

  6. Saw these locks on bridges all across Europe this summer. I am sorry that in NY they remove them.

    Like

  7. That answers my question! I posted a pic of thousands of locks on the Korea Tower. Had never seen it before and wondered if it happened elsewhere. Love the colours in all the your locks and I’m not sure if they ever remove the locks in Korea because there were so many everywhere – there were even tree shapes of them but colours not so distinct as yours because most were old and rusty!! (And you are a much much better photographer!!)

    Like

Leave a Reply

