A 52-Week Photo Journey

… Mary Nell Moore's Photography

Week 19 – #27. Lost/Forgotten Items

5 Comments

I have struggled with what to post to represent the “Lost/Forgotten Items” theme until I visited one of my favorite places in Battery Park City in New York.  Instead of admiring the New Jersey landscape across the Hudson River, or the Statute of Liberty in the far distance, on this day I turned around and admired the Irish Hunger Memorial designed by Brian Tolle which is dedicated to raising awareness of the Great Irish Famine, referred to by the Irish as “The Great Hunger.”  Construction of the memorial is entirely of products and items brought over from Ireland, including the remains of a stone cottage.  (More information can be found here.)  Over a million people died in Ireland between 1845 and 1852.    As I studied it, I saw the Freedom Tower looming upward a total of 1,776 feet which is being constructed on the site where on September 11, 2001, a total of 2,606 lives were lost in the World Trade Center and surrounding grounds.  These two sites brought to mind that although a great number of lives have been lost, they are not forgotten.

DSC_6813And8more_tonemapped

Author: tnwaltz

A true Southerner, I was born in Georgia but lived most of my adult life in Chattanooga, Tennessee. In 2001, my husband and I retired and moved to beautiful Sarasota, FL. We quickly realized that we were not retirement material and could not play golf two or three times a week so we got our real estate licenses and affiliated with Coldwell Banker on Longboat Key. My love for photography is very beneficial to me when photographing interiors and exteriors of the homes we list. Other than photography, I have a keen interest in genealogy and golf (whenever I can find the spare time from our real estate practice).

5 thoughts on “Week 19 – #27. Lost/Forgotten Items

  1. I love the angles in the photo and the silvery blues … Very interesting too, I have not heard about it before.

    Like

  2. Nice photograph and story.

    Like

  3. Perfect for the subject and thoughtful words and great colours too.

    Like

Leave a Reply

