A 52-Week Photo Journey

… Mary Nell Moore's Photography

Week 8 – #5. Butterflies And/Or Bees

17 Comments

Even though I am terrified of bees, I have been looking everywhere for butterflies and/or bees to photograph, but with little success. Quite honestly, even though it is only Week 8 of the challenge, I was fearful I would be a failure … until today when I spotted this gorgeous swallowtail. The first of two photos below was processed with a texture from Kim Klassen, giving it a dreamy appearance and softening the orchid. I like the look.
5. Butterlies And Or Bees 5
The second photo below is of the same butterfly but I was surprised to see that its underneath side was reversed in pattern and color. Okay, now that I have your attention, I must confess; otherwise, Patricia Reed will hang me by my hair from the highest rafter! I found this butterfly toes up and dead as a doornail in my driveway! Since I was on my way out for a real estate appointment, I gently picked it up and placed it on the top shelf in my refrigerator (Mike was not at all amused) until I could get back home to photograph it. When I returned home, I grabbed my camera, removed it from the refrigerator and placed it on my flowers. Worked like a charm … err … for me, not the butterfly. RIP Pretty Butterfly.
Dead Butterfly 2

Author: tnwaltz

A true Southerner, I was born in Georgia but lived most of my adult life in Chattanooga, Tennessee. In 2001, my husband and I retired and moved to beautiful Sarasota, FL. We quickly realized that we were not retirement material and could not play golf two or three times a week so we got our real estate licenses and affiliated with Coldwell Banker on Longboat Key. My love for photography is very beneficial to me when photographing interiors and exteriors of the homes we list. Other than photography, I have a keen interest in genealogy and golf (whenever I can find the spare time from our real estate practice).

17 thoughts on “Week 8 – #5. Butterflies And/Or Bees

  1. Love it, love it, love it. The texture really makes the butterfly stand out. Tell Mike he needs to appreciate your love of photography, creativity, and the depths you will go to accomplish the mission. Nice work.

    Like

  2. Kept a dead butterfly in the refrig? now Mary Nell, you have gone so many steps above and beyond to get a photo for the blog. This was too funny.

    Like

  3. The truth sets you free!

    Like

  4. Your confession was very funny – I say, hey, whatever works! And be patient; the photo opportunities always seem to present themselves! Great photo. I appreciated the soft look, but really liked the underside contrast, as well.

    Like

  5. You made me laugh, great photographers use any means possible to get just the right photo. 🙂

    Like

  6. I just wonder when you put it in the “fridge, did you put it in the butter keeper? :-D. Good thinking to preserve it for later shooting.

    Like

  7. does anyone ever ask the artist where the paint came from? A beautiful image is a beautiful image. I’m sure the butterfly is just happy to be remembered.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Sooo pretty – you did a fabulous job with it. (I never would have told!)

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I love the textures in the first butterfly image. The story made me laugh! Good thinking!

    Like

  10. I appreciate the steps you took to get your pictures. So sorry the butterfly didn’t make it though.

    Like

  11. I never would have thought to refrigerate it! That made me smile. Lovely pictures.

    Like

  12. HA! That’s funny. Photo is beautiful… butterfly was a sacrifice for the sake of art! 😉

    Like

  13. Very nice…..Isn’t it wonderful how we can all be honest and humble with this blog. Much appreciated!

    Like

  14. Poor dead beautiful butterfly.

    Like

  15. That came out amazing! Nice job!

    Like

Leave a Reply

