A 52-Week Photo Journey

… Mary Nell Moore's Photography

Week 13. #24. Long Exposure

19 Comments

Thanks to this challenge and a fellow photographer, I learned something new last week. On a beautiful day with a gentle breeze and puffy clouds above, I learned to use a variable filter, which I have had for nearly a year and never used. We spent about 3 hours together with a goal of learning how to use the variable filter resulting in a long exposure. Alongside the Ringling Bridge and overlooking the Bay towards downtown Sarasota provided the perfect venue.
24. Long Exposure

Author: tnwaltz

A true Southerner, I was born in Georgia but lived most of my adult life in Chattanooga, Tennessee. In 2001, my husband and I retired and moved to beautiful Sarasota, FL. We quickly realized that we were not retirement material and could not play golf two or three times a week so we got our real estate licenses and affiliated with Coldwell Banker on Longboat Key. My love for photography is very beneficial to me when photographing interiors and exteriors of the homes we list. Other than photography, I have a keen interest in genealogy and golf (whenever I can find the spare time from our real estate practice).

19 thoughts on “Week 13. #24. Long Exposure

  1. Beautiful shot, love the effect.

    Like

  2. Love the effect it gives this shot. Long exposure is on my list this year to learn, too.

    Like

  3. very nice – sky is beautiful – now you need to pass on the knowledge!

    Like

  4. Beautiful sky. I like the effect. Another one to look up. Great you had someone to show you how to achieve it.

    Like

  5. Nicely done. The scene looks so dreamy and soft. I’ll be heading south early November.

    Like

  6. That has been on my To Do List. I also bought the ND filter and did not tr it for over a year.

    Like

  7. hands down – absolutely beautiful. Advertising Sarasota.

    Like

  8. Could this be a future lesson for me? Another beautiful photo!

    Like

  9. Great shot! Make sure you go onto our website and enter in the Manasota Flooring photo contest. http://www.yourobserver.com/content/Contests-68.html

    Like

  10. Nice job MN. I love learning nice things like that.

    Like

  11. What a fantastic effect. I love it. Something else for my shopping list.

    Like

  12. Thanks to everybody for your kind remarks. It was interesting learning how to use the 10-stop filter.

    Like

  13. This is a gorgeous photo and certainly worthy of publication.

    Like

  14. I love how we all have something to learn from others!

    Like

Leave a Reply

