A 52-Week Photo Journey

… Mary Nell Moore's Photography

Week 24 – #32. Painting With Light

17 Comments

There are many beautiful places to photograph in Sarasota and I cannot select one place over another. One that I especially love, however, is downtown at Island Park along Sarasota Bay. There is always activity such as children playing, people walking their dogs, sweethearts strolling hand in hand and much more. While enjoying a pleasant evening recently, I decided to practice painting with light and found the grasses by the Bay gently swaying in the breeze to be the ideal subject. 32. Painting With Light

Author: tnwaltz

A true Southerner, I was born in Georgia but lived most of my adult life in Chattanooga, Tennessee. In 2001, my husband and I retired and moved to beautiful Sarasota, FL. We quickly realized that we were not retirement material and could not play golf two or three times a week so we got our real estate licenses and affiliated with Coldwell Banker on Longboat Key. My love for photography is very beneficial to me when photographing interiors and exteriors of the homes we list. Other than photography, I have a keen interest in genealogy and golf (whenever I can find the spare time from our real estate practice).

17 thoughts on “Week 24 – #32. Painting With Light

  1. Nice result from a fun evening.

    Like

  2. Great shot, the grasses look so mystical and you even caught the light from a passing boat!

    Like

  3. very nice – and a new angle to view Sarasota from!

    Like

  4. love this shot – how did you get the exposure?

    Like

    • Thanks, Tim. I used my Nikon D300s with a wide angle lens (Tokina 11-16mm). Settings were: manual; f/6.3; 30 sec.; ISO 200; 16mm. Tripod (of course). Just used manual to get the exposure on the background and then used the flashlight while the shutter was open to shed light on the dark grasses. I used Photoshop for some minor adjustments on the light which was shed on the grasses. Photo was taken at 7:40 p.m. but probably would have been a nicer blue-hour sky if I had taken it around 7:15 p.m. – 7:30 P.M.

      Like

  5. Beautiful capture. Perfectly done.

    Like

  6. Very nice. I appreciate your sharing your settings too. We are so fortunate to have so many great places to shoot.

    Like

  7. beautiful! Love the composition and the subtle painting!

    Like

  8. Super photo. I love seeing downtown at night!

    Like

  9. nice composition and use of the light painting effect. Well done.

    Like

  10. Beautiful picture…. Vi

    Like

  11. I like the softness created on the grasses.

    Like

  12. I now know why I have no photographic skills. Mother must have
    bypassed me, my other sister, and younger brother and decided
    to give it all to the baby.

    That is very good
    Bro

    Like

  13. I love the light on the grasses. Beautiful shot. Thanks for sharing the technical stuff.

    Like

Leave a Reply

