A 52-Week Photo Journey

… Mary Nell Moore's Photography

Week 29 – #44. Someone Working

14 Comments

Allow me to introduce you to the El Galeón, the 170-foot, 495-ton authenic wooden replica of a Spanish galleon that traveled the coasts of Florida 500 years ago. She was docked at the Municipal Marina in St. Augustine during the time of our visit. Owned and operated by the Nao Victoria Foundation of Seville, Spain, she carries twenty-eight crew members who must maneuver more than 9,600 square feet of sail area in the same fashion as 16th century sailors. I wondered if I could find someone working, and indeed I did. You’ll notice a couple of crew members watching another crew member as he dangles from a line on the port side while making adjustments to the lines.
DSC_0738

Author: tnwaltz

A true Southerner, I was born in Georgia but lived most of my adult life in Chattanooga, Tennessee. In 2001, my husband and I retired and moved to beautiful Sarasota, FL. We quickly realized that we were not retirement material and could not play golf two or three times a week so we got our real estate licenses and affiliated with Coldwell Banker on Longboat Key. My love for photography is very beneficial to me when photographing interiors and exteriors of the homes we list. Other than photography, I have a keen interest in genealogy and golf (whenever I can find the spare time from our real estate practice).

14 thoughts on “Week 29 – #44. Someone Working

  1. Excellent capture of this ship. I had hoped to catch El Galeón as it sailed into or out of Tampa Bay but it was not to be. Glad to see you were able to see it.

    Like

  2. Love the color of this photo and the liquid gold water!

    Like

  3. Great picture and and tonal composition

    Like

  4. Very nice, Mary Nell. I’m sorry we didn’t get up there this year. Maybe next. Now I’m really motivated!!

    Like

  5. Beautiful use of the shot.

    Like

  6. I wonder if they fantasize about being pirates as they work on this unique vessel. Lucky you to catch these crewmen. Nice lighting on the ship.

    Like

  7. Great shot of the crewman sitting in the bos’ns chair. The other two should be safety watches or line handlers to hoist him back aboard.

    Like

  8. Nice shot and what a lovely ship.

    Like

  9. The ships reflection in the water and the angle of the shot are so wonderful. I love how my eye travelled up the length of the ropes to the ship.

    Like

  10. Another great photo — love the colors.

    Like

  11. I love the colours, the perspective and the reflections. Great shot!

    Like

  12. Wonderful lighting and angle!

    Like

Leave a Reply

