A 52-Week Photo Journey

… Mary Nell Moore's Photography

Week 38 – #3. Backlit

15 Comments

When we relocated to Sarasota in 2001, one of the first things I did was purchase a small staghorn fern and secured it to the crotch of my shady live oak tree at the corner of the driveway. Despite the fact that I pay no attention to it other than toss it a banana peel on occasion, it has thrived and is now a very large, beautiful fern, thanks to the humidity we have here in Florida and the afternoon showers. As I pulled into the driveway early one morning, following a trip to Starbucks ;-), I noticed how its fronds were backlit by the bright morning sun.
3. Backlit

Author: tnwaltz

A true Southerner, I was born in Georgia but lived most of my adult life in Chattanooga, Tennessee. In 2001, my husband and I retired and moved to beautiful Sarasota, FL. We quickly realized that we were not retirement material and could not play golf two or three times a week so we got our real estate licenses and affiliated with Coldwell Banker on Longboat Key. My love for photography is very beneficial to me when photographing interiors and exteriors of the homes we list. Other than photography, I have a keen interest in genealogy and golf (whenever I can find the spare time from our real estate practice).

15 thoughts on “Week 38 – #3. Backlit

  1. Very nice and clearly shows how it got its name! I’ve seen them here but didn’t know their name.

    Like

  2. Beautiful combination of image and matting? Does it like Cheerios with the banana?

    Like

  3. Beautiful shot Mary Nell. Never heard the banana peel tip before.

    Like

    • You can supplement the staghorn fern’s need for potassium by feeding it banana peels. Bananas are a high-potassium food that displaces sodium that can be harmful to staghorn ferns. It really works!

      Liked by 1 person

      • I have a small one given to me by a friend. I have it hanging in a pot in the shade of a large row of palms. It has several new leaves since I got it last fall. Thanks for the info I will feed it next time I have a banana! We only have a young oak in the front yard so I don’t know when it would be safe to “replant” the fern.

        Like

  4. Immediately after I got mine, I wrapped moss around the base and then secured it around the tree with fishing line. I watered it and the rest is history. It has more than tripled in size.

    Like

  5. The like coffee grinds too. Beautiful!

    Like

  6. Nice shot and very interesting discussions.

    Like

  7. I want to see the photo of the fern catching the tossed banana. Now there’s the shot.

    Like

  8. Lovely light and I like the framing too.

    Like

Leave a Reply

