A 52-Week Photo Journey

… Mary Nell Moore's Photography

Week 42 – #50. Urban Scenery

8 Comments

For this week’s theme, I want to introduce you to urban scenery and give you a bit of history about an historic hotel, the Crutchfield House, built in 1847 in downtown Chattanooga. Jefferson Davis stayed there after resigning from the U. S. Senate. During the Civil War, it was used as a hospital only to burn down in 1867. A doctor, John T. Read, and his son built a grand hotel on the old site and named it the Read House, the name by which it is known today. In 1927, it was replaced with the present 10-story building. Famous guests like Winston Churchill, Al Capone, Tallulah Bankhead, Gary Cooper and many others have been guests there but none so famous as the guest in Room 311. Annalisa Netherly checked into Room 311 in the late 1920’s. Not much is known about how or why she checked into the Read House but legend has it that her husband brought her and found her romantically entertaining another man. He slit her throat almost decapitating her in the bathtub. (NOTE FROM MN: Some men are not very forgiving.) Annalisa Netherly is still seen on occasion in Room 311 and for that reason Room 311 is never rented unless specifically requested. In 1977, the Read House was included in the National Register of Historic Places as a prime example of period architecture and decorative art. If you find yourself in Chattanooga, enjoy an overnight stay at the Read House … perhaps requesting Room 311.
Week 42 Urban Scenery

Author: tnwaltz

A true Southerner, I was born in Georgia but lived most of my adult life in Chattanooga, Tennessee. In 2001, my husband and I retired and moved to beautiful Sarasota, FL. We quickly realized that we were not retirement material and could not play golf two or three times a week so we got our real estate licenses and affiliated with Coldwell Banker on Longboat Key. My love for photography is very beneficial to me when photographing interiors and exteriors of the homes we list. Other than photography, I have a keen interest in genealogy and golf (whenever I can find the spare time from our real estate practice).

8 thoughts on “Week 42 – #50. Urban Scenery

  1. Very interesting story. Makes me want to try room 311.

    Like

  2. Great story . . . legend? I really must go to Chattanooga (as soon as I can spell it without thinking about it), but I’m not sure about Room 311.

    Like

  3. I really like the colors in this photo. Whole thing looks inviting until reading about room 311 !

    Like

  4. Photo Club Field Trip?? I will stand behind the WHOLE group to look into 311. 😉

    Like

  5. Sounds like quite a place to stay, but I too will pass on room 311.

    Like

  6. Love your story behind the photo! I look forward to seeing your photos of Chattanooga and Will visit this beautiful place one day.

    Like

  7. I love the light and the colours in the photo and the way the pavement draws you into the photograph. Thanks for the history too. I think I will give Room 311 a miss too!

    Like

Leave a Reply

