A 52-Week Photo Journey

… Mary Nell Moore's Photography

Week 51 – #45. Statues

7 Comments

There are many statues in St. Augustine but when I saw this one, The Foot Soldiers for Freedom and Justice, it spoke to me.
DSC_0757
DSC_0754

Author: tnwaltz

A true Southerner, I was born in Georgia but lived most of my adult life in Chattanooga, Tennessee. In 2001, my husband and I retired and moved to beautiful Sarasota, FL. We quickly realized that we were not retirement material and could not play golf two or three times a week so we got our real estate licenses and affiliated with Coldwell Banker on Longboat Key. My love for photography is very beneficial to me when photographing interiors and exteriors of the homes we list. Other than photography, I have a keen interest in genealogy and golf (whenever I can find the spare time from our real estate practice).

7 thoughts on “Week 51 – #45. Statues

  1. Nice sentiment on this statue.

    Like

  2. It’s beautiful…the statue and the plaque’s words. I’ve never thought of Florida as being one of the states involved in the civil rights movement. Alabama, Mississippi, and Louisianan come to mind but never Florida. I’ll be doing some re-educating of myself on this.

    Like

  3. Beautiful! Sharing with my Black friends

    Like

  4. In my trips to St. A, I haven’t seen this. Nice.

    Like

  5. good choice. Brave people.

    Like

  6. Very moving words and memorial, Thanks for sharing it.

    Like

  7. Thank you for sharing this bit of history. Jewel

    Like

Leave a Reply

