A 52-Week Photo Journey

… Mary Nell Moore's Photography

Week 4 – #A4. Patriotism

8 Comments

“How can this possibly happen in our town?” was the question asked over and over again on July 16th when a coward, Mohammad Youssuf Abdulazeez, opened fire on a recruiting station in Chattanooga, TN and then drove seven miles to a U. S. Navy facility where he rammed the gate, opened fire killing four U. S. Marines and wounding three others before he was fatally shot by a police officer. A U. S. Navy sailor later died from his wounds. While in Chattanooga this month, there was one place I wanted to visit…the U. S. Navy facility. As I stood at the entrance of the facility in the midst of a sea of American flags placed in both directions as far as the eye could see, I was overwhelmed with the showing of patriotism. With my heart pounding, chill bumps covering my body and tears streaming from my eyes, I photographed the scene, although a partial view. I have many friends and family members, past and present, who served or are presently serving in the military and I am deeply saddened as a result of this tragedy. I am asking that you keep the families of the deceased and wounded in your hearts and prayers.
Patriotic

Author: tnwaltz

A true Southerner, I was born in Georgia but lived most of my adult life in Chattanooga, Tennessee. In 2001, my husband and I retired and moved to beautiful Sarasota, FL. We quickly realized that we were not retirement material and could not play golf two or three times a week so we got our real estate licenses and affiliated with Coldwell Banker on Longboat Key. My love for photography is very beneficial to me when photographing interiors and exteriors of the homes we list. Other than photography, I have a keen interest in genealogy and golf (whenever I can find the spare time from our real estate practice).

8 thoughts on “Week 4 – #A4. Patriotism

  1. Thank you for this shot and post.
    Fortunately most of us are raised to love one another and will never be able to understand how anyone could so such an horrendous thing.
    Your shot is heartwarming and redemptive. The families and we as a people need to pull together in support of each other.

    Like

  2. Events like that are always difficult to hear about and understand, and when it hits a place where you actually lived, it evokes even deeper emotions. You wrote a touching background to go with the proud photo.

    Like

  3. they are in my thoughts and prayers. GOD BLESS AMERICA!!! If you don’t like it, GET OUT!!

    Like

  4. This is a sad reflection on our times, but a warm moment of support for the men and women who protect our country. Thanks for sharing this, most of us would not know this tribute.

    Like

  5. Love our country and all those men and women who continue to play a roll in keeping us safe, no better place on earth to live. Wonderful photo and tribute MaryNell.

    Like

  6. How can it possibly happen anywhere? What a sad commentary on our time and place. Nice shot.

    Like

  7. Lovely photographic tribute.

    Like

  8. Brave shot and tribute. I will keep the deceased and wounded in my thoughts and prayers.

    Like

Leave a Reply

