A 52-Week Photo Journey

… Mary Nell Moore's Photography

Week 16 – #4. Biggest Fear

12 Comments

I have several fears which I think would fit this theme; however, since our rules are to post only one photo which best fits the theme, I would have to say my biggest fear is getting stung by a bee. As a little girl growing up in the country, I was always getting bee stings while playing in the yard or hiking in the mountains. My grandfather chewed tobacco and he always said tobacco juice would take away the sting. YUK! I did not like that idea but neither did I like the pain caused by the sting so I would always let him plaster the area with his tobacco juice. Don’t laugh. It really is an old home remedy so if you’re a smoker and get stung by a bee, just wet the end of your cigarette and squeeze the tobacco juice on the area. Don’t worry, I am not going to post a photo of a wad of chewing tobacco but rather a photo of a beautiful water lily. I was very careful not to get too close to the bees that were gathering pollen to take back to their nests. Thank goodness for zoom lenses!
Biggest Fear DSC_8578

Author: tnwaltz

A true Southerner, I was born in Georgia but lived most of my adult life in Chattanooga, Tennessee. In 2001, my husband and I retired and moved to beautiful Sarasota, FL. We quickly realized that we were not retirement material and could not play golf two or three times a week so we got our real estate licenses and affiliated with Coldwell Banker on Longboat Key. My love for photography is very beneficial to me when photographing interiors and exteriors of the homes we list. Other than photography, I have a keen interest in genealogy and golf (whenever I can find the spare time from our real estate practice).

12 thoughts on “Week 16 – #4. Biggest Fear

  1. Nicely captured, beautiful photo.

    Like

  2. You did give a vivid description of how your Grandfather convinced you he knew the best cure. And how you were a good girl and followed his advice. Sweet flower.

    Like

  3. What a fearless shot, Mary! Love it! 😉

    Like

  4. Beautiful shot! My mom always used a paste of baking soda and water, I can remember needing it a lot when I was growing up running barefoot through the patches of clover in the yard!

    Like

  5. i knew that about the tobacco but never used it. beautiful photo!

    Like

  6. Nicely done. I love that you captured the bee coming in for a landing!

    Like

  7. You made me remember the constant supply of tobacco juice at my grandfathers house. Yuk! beautiful water lily.

    Like

  8. Well, what can I say, tobacco juice??? Great story and image. Gary

    Like

  9. Beautiful shot. I have never heard of the tobacco juice remedy. I can never remember the different remedies for bees and wasps! I always have to look them up!

    Like

Leave a Reply

