A 52-Week Photo Journey

… Mary Nell Moore's Photography

Week 17 – #24. Loud Noises

11 Comments

As a kid, I was fascinated with trains. Did you ever put pennies on railroad tracks? My older brothers and I loved walking down our little country road full of excitement with pennies jingling in our pockets. We knew the train schedule and were very careful to get the pennies on the tracks in enough time to run to our favorite hiding place until the train weighing hundreds of tons charged past us at high speed. Finding the flattened pennies was a thrill and I kept mine in a little tin beside my bed. While in Chattanooga recently, I drove to my childhood home and, although the railroad track is now inoperable, as I drove across it, I smiled. I remembered the loud noises of the train whistle, engine and wheels as well as our little hiding place and the challenge of finding those copper pennies flattened by the train. The scene in this post is of the Tennessee Valley Railway Museum, Chattanooga, TN.
24. Loud Noises DSC_7699

Author: tnwaltz

A true Southerner, I was born in Georgia but lived most of my adult life in Chattanooga, Tennessee. In 2001, my husband and I retired and moved to beautiful Sarasota, FL. We quickly realized that we were not retirement material and could not play golf two or three times a week so we got our real estate licenses and affiliated with Coldwell Banker on Longboat Key. My love for photography is very beneficial to me when photographing interiors and exteriors of the homes we list. Other than photography, I have a keen interest in genealogy and golf (whenever I can find the spare time from our real estate practice).

11 thoughts on “Week 17 – #24. Loud Noises

  1. Great photo, Mary Nell… and memories, too… 😉

    Like

  2. Thanks for sharing the nice story. The official-looking conductor adds to the picture.

    Like

  3. Great memories, I grew up hearing the whistle of trains all day and evening long. In fact every town I have lived I until now, I sure miss it.

    Like

  4. I remember those days too. And why were we afraid we’d get in trouble for putting a little copper penny on the railroad tracks? Love the picture.

    Like

  5. I don’t know which I like more – the story or the photo – both are wonderful.

    Like

  6. Wonderful story, and photo!

    Like

  7. I never did the penny but probably because my parents gave me a healthy dose of showing respect for those huge iron horses.

    Like

  8. Great memories and great train. I grew up beside a railway too. We were on the main line between London and Aberdeen. I used to see the Flying Scotsman most days and the engine driver would blow his whistle if I waved to him.

    Like

Leave a Reply

