A 52-Week Photo Journey

… Mary Nell Moore's Photography

Week 32 – #18. Hidden From View

6 Comments

Until recently, this sign was “hidden from view” because for decades another building was attached to the wall of the Boulevard Pharmacy in Chattanooga, TN on which was painted this sign advertising several products sold at the soda fountain. The Boulevard Pharmacy closed its doors years ago but I found it interesting to note how little food and beverages cost. If you enlarge this photo, you will note that a donut and coffee cost a mere 12 cents; and the most expensive thing on the menu, a ham and egg sandwich, would set you back a whopping 35 cents! Just for fun, enlarge the photo and see how much it would cost to take a date to lunch at the Boulevard Pharmacy. A bit less expensive than today, eh guys?

Double-Cola was founded in Chattanooga in 1922; and I believe Sealtest Ice Cream products have been discontinued.

The signs will not be seeing the light of day for long because a new three-story building will soon begin at the site. It will include retail, office and restaurant space.
Hidden From View DSC_9472

Author: tnwaltz

A true Southerner, I was born in Georgia but lived most of my adult life in Chattanooga, Tennessee. In 2001, my husband and I retired and moved to beautiful Sarasota, FL. We quickly realized that we were not retirement material and could not play golf two or three times a week so we got our real estate licenses and affiliated with Coldwell Banker on Longboat Key. My love for photography is very beneficial to me when photographing interiors and exteriors of the homes we list. Other than photography, I have a keen interest in genealogy and golf (whenever I can find the spare time from our real estate practice).

6 thoughts on “Week 32 – #18. Hidden From View

  1. Great one for the theme MaryNell. I do hope they at least restore this bit of Amercian history. Yes, Sealtest ice cream is no longer made, my favorite was black walnut chocolate fudge. My mouth is drooling right now thinking about it!

    Like

  2. I love it. Probably be gone by the 25th & 26th of April when we come through.

    Like

  3. I love the old advertising on the sides of buildings.

    Like

  4. Your hometown is a treasure-trove of potential photographs. Love them all.

    Like

  5. Great to have captured this bit of history before it disappears. Interesting image. Well spotted.

    Like

Leave a Reply

