A 52-Week Photo Journey

… Mary Nell Moore's Photography

Week 37 – #27. Memories

7 Comments

Lula Lake holds special memories for me and my family.  When we were kids, Mother would prepare a picnic and after church the entire family would hike up a mountain trail for lunch and a swim in the ice cold water.  My husband has heard stories about our outings so while in Chattanooga this past October, he asked if I would take him to Lula Lake.  It had been years since I last visited but once we got there, the memories flooded my mind and it seemed like only yesterday.  My Dad would dive from the cliff and we, of course, would scream as he plunged into the water.  He used to tell us not to worry about him getting hurt because Lula Lake “has no bottom,” and we, of course, believed everything Daddy told us.  Oh, the innocence of children!  About a mile down stream from this pool is a 100′ waterfall, appropriately named Lula Falls.

27. Memories DSC_8331

Author: tnwaltz

A true Southerner, I was born in Georgia but lived most of my adult life in Chattanooga, Tennessee. In 2001, my husband and I retired and moved to beautiful Sarasota, FL. We quickly realized that we were not retirement material and could not play golf two or three times a week so we got our real estate licenses and affiliated with Coldwell Banker on Longboat Key. My love for photography is very beneficial to me when photographing interiors and exteriors of the homes we list. Other than photography, I have a keen interest in genealogy and golf (whenever I can find the spare time from our real estate practice).

7 thoughts on “Week 37 – #27. Memories

  1. I am sure this is special. Family memories seem to be more important as we get older.

    Like

  2. What a beautiful spot and I enjoyed your memory of times spent there as a child.

    Like

  3. I love that memory about the lake being bottomless.

    Like

  4. Great memories. Thanks for sharing and glad you did not go over the falls!😀

    Like

  5. Wonderful memories, thank you for sharing

    Like

  6. great colors! – wonderful memories! LOVE your idea of doing a shutterfly book for each year – I really think I might do that (if I can catch up on this year) and I’d like to see yours.

    Like

  7. Lovely colours. Great memories. Thank you for sharing them with us.

    Like

Leave a Reply

