A 52-Week Photo Journey

… Mary Nell Moore's Photography

Week 2 – #33. Something With Wings

13 Comments

Last week, I posted a photo of the Oculus from the street behind it so this week you will get a view of it as seen across the footprint of the former World Trade Center building which was destroyed in the brutal attack of September 11, 2001.  The Oculus is an unusual design and looks like “something with wings.”

Something With Wings DSC_4116

Author: tnwaltz

A true Southerner, I was born in Georgia but lived most of my adult life in Chattanooga, Tennessee. In 2001, my husband and I retired and moved to beautiful Sarasota, FL. We quickly realized that we were not retirement material and could not play golf two or three times a week so we got our real estate licenses and affiliated with Coldwell Banker on Longboat Key. My love for photography is very beneficial to me when photographing interiors and exteriors of the homes we list. Other than photography, I have a keen interest in genealogy and golf (whenever I can find the spare time from our real estate practice).

13 thoughts on “Week 2 – #33. Something With Wings

  1. Nicely captured — well done!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Another nice capture from a great angle. I figured you would do this one after your last post. You worked the site.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thinking outside of the box my favorite way to see things!

    Like

  4. Nice interpretation. Gary

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I like the shades of blue, also. Striking image.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Great image. Love the angles.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Different approach love it!

    Like

  8. Love this! I have yet to return to the site since the week after it happened. I have heard they did a phenomenal job. Thanks for this one!
    9-11-01 NEVER FORGOTTEN

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jonathan, being a fireman I strongly suggest you take the opportunity to re-visit the site. I go once or twice a year to visit our son who lives just two blocks from the site. So powerful is the museum, not to be taken lightly. Listening to the actual voices of victims’ phone calls to loved ones, seeing their faces and personal belongings and viewing the devastation are things that will stay in my mind forever. I walk away with teary eyes. I am sure you have stories to tell and sights that will also never leave you. Your job is never to be taken lightly and I appreciate all you and your brothers do for your fellow Americans.

      Liked by 1 person

  9. What an amazing image, A fitting tribute to 9-11.

    Like

  10. Great angle. I love the light and the colours. Very evocative image.

    Like

Leave a Reply

