A 52-Week Photo Journey

… Mary Nell Moore's Photography

Week 10 – #21. On The Water

3 Comments

Finding something to photograph “on the water” is not difficult to do in New York so after giving a lot of thought to it, I asked Mike to drive up to Croton-On-Hudson to the Croton Gorge Park so I could photograph the New Croton Dam. We had several days of rain while we were in New York so I was hopeful the spillway would be overflowing and the water below gushing with mist. Although that was not the case, I did enjoy seeing and photographing this beautifully designed dam. More information about the dam can be found here: http://parks.westchestergov.com/croton-gorge-park and beautiful photos of the dam with overflowing water can be seen in Rick Sammon’s website here: http://ricksammon.com/croton-on-hudson-workshop/ Rick lives in Croton-On-Hudson and he visits the area often. He has given workshops at my photo club in Chattanooga on two occasions and was the person who told me about the Croton Gorge Park.
Croton On Hudson DSC_4057

Author: tnwaltz

A true Southerner, I was born in Georgia but lived most of my adult life in Chattanooga, Tennessee. In 2001, my husband and I retired and moved to beautiful Sarasota, FL. We quickly realized that we were not retirement material and could not play golf two or three times a week so we got our real estate licenses and affiliated with Coldwell Banker on Longboat Key. My love for photography is very beneficial to me when photographing interiors and exteriors of the homes we list. Other than photography, I have a keen interest in genealogy and golf (whenever I can find the spare time from our real estate practice).

3 thoughts on “Week 10 – #21. On The Water

  1. Great photo rich colors … but I can see why you were hoping for the spillway to be overflowing having looked at Rick Sammons website, very spectacular.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Lovely stone work and iron bridge. It could be in Scotland (apart from the blue sky!), there are may dams of this type there.

    Like

Leave a Reply

