A 52-Week Photo Journey

… Mary Nell Moore's Photography

Week 50 – #36. Stitched Together

8 Comments

I love old handmade quilts and have managed to collect quite a few over the years. I have fond childhood memories of my Mother, Grandmother and lady members of our little church meeting once a week for a quilting bee, and I still have some of those old quilts in my collection. The photo of the one below, which I keep on a guest bed, is of the pattern Miss Sunbonnet. According to research I did, quilt blocks of Miss Sunbonnet began showing up as early as the 1800s, but popularity with crafters only began to grow after the publication of the Sunbonnet Babies Primers in the early 20th century. This pattern is also known as Dutch Doll, which I have always known it as. To make a quilt, the pattern was sewn and attached to individual quilt blocks, which were then “stitched together” by hand to make a quilt top. The finished quilt top was then placed atop a roll of cotton and a large piece of fabric for the back. The entire piece was then placed in a large quilting frame around which ladies sat and hand stitched with small even stitches to hold it together. It’s a labor of love.Week 50 - 36. Stitched Together

 

 

 

Author: tnwaltz

A true Southerner, I was born in Georgia but lived most of my adult life in Chattanooga, Tennessee. In 2001, my husband and I retired and moved to beautiful Sarasota, FL. We quickly realized that we were not retirement material and could not play golf two or three times a week so we got our real estate licenses and affiliated with Coldwell Banker on Longboat Key. My love for photography is very beneficial to me when photographing interiors and exteriors of the homes we list. Other than photography, I have a keen interest in genealogy and golf (whenever I can find the spare time from our real estate practice).

8 thoughts on “Week 50 – #36. Stitched Together

  1. What a sweet design this is, along with your story. I never knew about the big quilt being put on a frame to finish the edges. That must have been a great “coffee klatsch” for the ladies!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I always knew when my grandmother was visiting because the quilting frame took over the dining room and the children all had a new “tent” for a few weeks. Over the time of the visit our tent would get smaller and smaller as the quilt was finished and way too soon the dining room would return to normal. I still have some of those quilts. Great memories.

    Liked by 2 people

    • I loved reading about the tent! I forgot all about that part of the quilting bee and your memory put a big smile on my face and brought back my own memory of the many hours my little girl friend, Patricia Jackson, and I spent with our dolls underneath “our tent” at the church while the ladies quilted. As Bob Hope would say, “Thanks for the memories!”

      Liked by 1 person

    • Diane, it was truly a time for fellowship with the ladies, who brought their lunch in a brown paper bag. Vivid memories of those days.

      Like

  3. As a quilter you made me smile with your post. I quilted for quite a few years with a group of ladies at my church. My mother died way too young, so they were like mothers to me. Goood memories.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. What a lovely blog! I am looking forward to beginning the next 52 weeks.

    Like

  5. So interesting … I can just imagine this circle of friends all chatting and working away. My aunt did beautiful embroidery not quilts. I’d love to see this sometime!

    Like

  6. Thanks for the background to ‘quilting’. I love the design.

    Like

Leave a Reply

